Welcoming Seminarian Daniel Rice to the Office of Multicultural Ministries

PCJ Mural.jpg

Mural of (top to bottom) Christ the High Priest, the virtues, several Saints, and the minor orders.  St. Turibius Chapel at the Pontifical College Josephinum.

Hello!  I am Daniel Rice, a seminarian for our Diocese of Arlington.  I entered seminary right after graduating high school, and I just finished my fourth year of seminary at the Pontifical College Josephinum in Columbus, Ohio, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy and having the honor of giving the valedictory address to my classmates and their families.  I have five years of seminary formation remaining, the next of which is a spiritual year at St. Charles Borromeo Seminary in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  During this year I will be on a technology fast, have classes on Scripture, the Catechism, Spiritual classes, etc., go on retreats, live in community, and do many other things to focus on interiority with the heart of Christ.  I was born and raised in Chantilly, Virginia, and St. Timothy’s is my beloved home parish.  I love to sing, read good books, play sports, hike, and do almost anything athletic or outdoors.

Daniel-Rice (4) mycropped.jpgThis Summer I am living at Blessed Sacrament Parish and working in the Office of Multicultural Ministries here in the diocese.  Our mission is to serve the pastoral needs of the various ethnic communities within the Diocese of Arlington (of which there are many, e.g., Hispanic, Filipino, African-American, Korean, Brazilian, Vietnamese, Ghanaian, Eritrean, Cameroonian, and Asian and Pacific Islander), to serve as a resource to newcomers, and to evangelize with communion and solidarity.  I hope to visit as many of these communities as possible during the summer, serve in whatever capacity I can, be present as a seminarian of the diocese, and obtain a greater understanding of the diocese as a whole.

Seal of Office of Multicultural Ministries.jpegAfter I visit these communities, I will be posting short entries on this blog about my experiences.  So check in occasionally and hopefully you can learn more about the diocese with me.  Also, know that all of the communities I will be visiting and the events I will attend are open to everyone!  As my work this summer begins, please join me in praying for the whole people of the Diocese of Arlington.

Mary, Queen of all Saints, pray for us.

Leave a Reply

